How to build a minimalist wardrobe
Blog, Fashion, Life

Building Minimal

My journey to a minimalist wardrobe.

Last month I took a hard look at my wardrobe and realized something terrible- I don’t like half of the items in there. I have clothes that don’t fit, that dress I bought to be “spunky”, that mint blouse that I knew I’d never wear but I just couldn’t resist the sale price. (I mean come on, it’s was three dollars.) It was a huge wake-up call. I had to make some changes!

So I began my closet purge. It was a very tedious task. I tried on piece after piece, separating it into categories. “Keep” “Maybe” “Bye Bye”

I was brutally honest with myself. I had to fess up when I knew I wasn’t going to wear the mustard yellow top, no matter how cute it looked. By the end of my purge, I had FIVE trash bags full of clothes. Ahhh! That’s too much.

Now comes the fun part! SHOPPING! I am so excited to get a new wardrobe. I am going to document and share with you all.

I have been on a weight loss journey for the past year and a half and so I am also dealing with clothes not fitting in a flattering way. (I know boo hoo for me) It is a completely exciting and I am super proud but I have lost some really cute clothing pieces that I love because they don’t fit well.

I am a firm believer in buying clothes that fit. If clothes fit you properly it takes the outfit to a whole new level of awesome! So I have purged some dearly beloved staple pieces. However, not all my old clothes were a lost cause. I have an adorable maroon tulle skirt that I fell in love with from the moment I saw it at the store (and then waited for it to go on sale). I am going to have the band professionally tailored so it fits me again!

Minimalist Wardrobe
Pre-weight loss

Altering clothes is not as expensive as you may think. I highly suggest getting clothes you love altered. My favorite thing to get fixed is jeans! (Goodbye pant legs that get stepped on and totally destroyed). Miss Me Jeans are notorious for being long and that just doesn’t work with my short legs! So I get them professionally hemmed to fit me perfectly! It’s the little things y’all!

Join me as I work toward a functional totally adorable minimalist wardrobe! Do you have any tips for going minimalist? I’d love to hear them in the comments below.

Also, does anyone know where I can buy some jean shorts in a size 2 that don’t show off my lower butt cheeks? Because those don’t seem to exist and I’m just really not about that life.

XO, Madison

2 thoughts on “Building Minimal”

Leave a Reply

